University of London

Contact Number: 0442078628000
Location:University of London Senate House,Malet Street, London, United Kingdom - WC1E 7HU,London

Send Inquiry

The University of London was granted its first charter in 1836 and is the third oldest university in England. The two founding Colleges of the University, UCL (founded 1827) and King’s College London (founded 1829), both predate the University, as do many other of the University’s constituent institutions.  For example, St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical School (now part of Queen Mary) and St Thomas’ Hospital Medical School (now part of King’s College London) both have twelfth-century origins. The University of London was initially established to act as an examining body for its Colleges and other ‘approved institutions’.  It was formally granted permission to do so by King William IV in 1836 and the University acted solely in this capacity until 1858.

Expansion: the birth of distance learning and the establishment of the 'Teaching University' After 1858, the University continued to act as an examining body for its constituent Colleges. However, in that year, its degrees were made accessible to any qualified candidate in the United Kingdom and students studying by distance learning throughout the world through the External System .

Towards the end of the nineteenth century, the University became more than just an examining body and was established as a federal ‘Teaching University’.  The University of London Act was passed in 1898, after which the University monitored course content and academic quality in the Colleges through centrally-located faculties and Boards of Studies.  The University’s Statutes distinguished between the examination of ‘External’ students and those drawn from the Colleges, or ‘Schools’ of the University, who were known as ‘Internal’ students.
The University of London has been a pioneering force in higher education from its early years.  The London syllabus introduced many new subjects into university education, including modern languages and laboratory science.  Its degrees have always been awarded without discrimination on religious, social or sexual grounds.  In 1878 London became the first university in the UK to admit women to its degrees.  In 1880, four women passed the BA examination and in 1881 two women obtained a BSc.  By 1895, over ten percent of the graduates were women and by 1900 the proportion had increased to thirty percent. By 1908, the University of London had over 4000 registered students, exceeding the universities of both Oxford and Cambridge, becoming the largest university in the UK and the fifth largest in the world.

Contact Person ::


Contact Number ::


Email ::

Fax ::


Address :

University of London Senate House,Malet Street, London, United Kingdom - WC1E 7HU

Leave your comments